Summer movies return to Founders Park

By  | 

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - The Springfield-Greene County Park Board’s annual Movies at Founders Park series begins Friday, July 7, bringing recent blockbusters and classic movies to an outdoor setting in downtown Springfield’s Founders Park, 330 E. Water St., at the intersection of Jefferson Avenue.

The free film series continues every Friday and Saturday night through August 26. Movies begin at dusk, about 9 p.m.

The eight-week movie series is a contemporary version of a drive-in theater. Audiences bring their own lawn chairs and blankets and enjoy an evening under the stars. Friday is Family Night, with kid-friendly films, and Saturday is Date Night, but all films are family-friendly and open to all ages. All movies are rated G, PG or PG-13.
Admission to Movies at Founders Park is free, and new this year, advanced tickets are not required. Concessions are available. No tobacco, alcohol or pets allowed. Seating availability is first come, first served.

The schedule includes:
Friday, July 7 Jumanji, rated PG
Saturday, July 8 The Prestige, rated PG-13
Friday, July 14 Beauty and the Beast (1991), rated G
Saturday, July 15 La La Land, rated PG-13
Friday, July 21 Moana, rated PG
Saturday, July 22 Dead Poet’s Society, rated PG
Friday, July 28 The Goonies, rated PG
Saturday, July 29 Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, rated PG
Friday, August 4 Kubo and the Two Stings, rated PG
Saturday, August 5 The Princess Bride, rated PG
Friday, August 11* Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, rated PG (special screening location at Jordan Valley Park during Birthplace of Rt. 66 Festival)
Saturday, August 12 Anchorman, rated PG-13
Friday, August 18 The Jungle Book (2016), rated PG
Saturday, August 19 North by Northwest, not rated
Friday, August 25 E.T., rated PG
Saturday, August 26 Rogue One, rated PG-13

The Park Board partners again with SATO48 to highlight several short films produced by local filmmakers in the 2017 SATO48 film challenge. SATO films will be screened prior to the feature films on Saturday nights.

Movies at Founders is presented by CoxHealth, with community partner Alamo Drafthouse Cinema.

For more information, visit ParkBoard.org/Movies or call the Mediacom Ice Park at 417-866-7444, or the Springfield-Greene County Park Board office at 417-864-1049.