BOSTON, Mass. -

Boston is partying like it's 1918.

The Boston Red Sox defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-1 Wednesday night to claim the franchise's eighth World Series Championship.  It is the first Red Sox championhips have clinched at Fenway Park since 1918.  The Red Sox won the prior championships (2004, 2007) on the road.

Boston started the scoring in the bottom of the third inning.  Shane Victorino cleared the bases with a double scoring Jacoby Ellsbury, David Ortiz and Jonny Gomes for a 2-0 lead.  The Red Sox added three more runs in the fourth inning for a 6-0 lead.

Cardinals rookie pitcher Michael Wacha lasted just 3.2 innings, giving up six runs and on five hits.  Wacha, 22, entered the Game 6  start with a 4-0 record and a 1.00 ERA in the 2013 postseason.

St. Louis plated the lone run in the seventh inning after Daniel Descalso scored on a Carlos Beltran single.  The Cardinals loaded the basses with two-outs in the inning, before Allen Craig grounded to Ortiz at first.  The Cardinals stranded nine runners in Game 6.

Boston is only the second Major League Baseball franchise (1991 Minnesota Twins) to finish last in the division before winning the World Series the following season.