Five incumbents in Missouri statewide offices win re-election bids, AP projects

Incumbents have won all five statewide offices up for election in Missouri, per AP projections.
Incumbents have won all five statewide offices up for election in Missouri, per AP projections.(KY3)
Published: Nov. 3, 2020 at 7:04 PM CST|Updated: Nov. 3, 2020 at 11:01 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (KY3) - Missouri voters had the option to vote for candidates for five statewide elected official races Tuesday: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer and Attorney General.

All five statewide offices up for election in Missouri have been called, per the Associated Press.

-The Associated Press projects Missouri Gov. Mike Parson has won election.

Parson took over as the governor of Missouri in May 2018 after being elected as lieutenant governor in 2016. He defeats state auditor Nicole Galloway, Libertarian candidate Rik Combs and Green Party candidate Jerome Bauer.

-The Associated Press projects Missouri Lieutenant Gov. Mike Kehoe has won re-election.

Mike Kehoe assumed office as lieutenant governor in May 2018 after serving in the Missouri State Senate for eight years. His bid for re-election came against Alissia Canady, a member of the Kansas City City Council, in addition to Libertarian candidate Bill Slantz and Green Party candidate Kelley Dragoo.

-The Associated Press projects Missouri Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft has won re-election.

Jay Ashcroft has served as the Missouri Secretary of State since January 2017. Challengers he defeated to retain his seat include Democrat candidate Yinka Faleti, Libertarian candidate Carl Freese, Green Party candidate Paul Lehmann and Constitution Party candidate Paul Venable.

-The Associated Press projects Missouri Attorney General Eric Schmitt has won re-election.

Eric Schmitt secures a second term as attorney general of Missouri and previously served as the state treasurer. He is opposed by Democrat candidate Richard Finneran and Libertarian candidate Kevin Babcock.

-The Associated Press projects Missouri Treasurer Scott Fitzpatrick has won re-election.

Scott Fitzpatrick, a former Republican member of the Missouri House of Representatives, has served as the Missouri treasurer since 2016. One of his challengers, Vicki Englund, has also served in the Missouri House of Representatives. Fitzpatrick defeats Englund, in addition to Libertarian candidate Nicholas Kasoff and Green Party candidate Joseph Civettini.

Parson, Kehoe, Ashcroft, Schmitt and Fitzpatrick won re-election bids as Republican candidates.

Copyright 2020 KY3. All rights reserved.